3710 S. Discovery Road
Port Townsend, WA 98368

360-385-1270

info@chevychasebeachcabins.com
Seattle Met, June 2017: Unforgettable Cottage and Cabin Getaways
Quaint Cottages on Discovery Bay - "The Chevy Chase Beach Cabins have nothing to do with that town in Maryland or the guy from Fletch; born Saint's Rest 120 years ago on a homestead outside Port Townsend, the name changed around 1923, and the seven surviving boxy cottages date to the 1930s. Situated between the waters of the northern Olympic Peninsula and Discovery Bay Golf Club, the homestead offers private access to the beaches that sit below its bluffs."

Named one of the Top 10 Romantic cottages by Sunset Magazine!
"If romance is fueled by candlelit dinners, long walks on the beach, and evenings by the fire, then Chevy Chase has the formula nailed. Dig clams out your front door and cook 'em up inside, or hit Uptown for dinner at the intimate Wild Coho. You can even walk hand in hand along the sand at Fort Worden State Park — where An Officer and a Gentleman was filmed. Then go back and watch it." -Jim McCausland

Northwest Travel and Life's Annual 52 Getaways: Our Picks for the Best of the NW in 2017.
Excursion to the Olympic Peninsula: "As a base camp for your getaway, a perfect oasis on the peninsula is Chevy Chase Beach Cabins, tucked away only about fifteen minutes from the heart of Port Townsend. On the top of a bluff overlooking Discovery Bay, the cabins accommodate everything from “romantic weekend escape” to “bring the whole family—we’re having a reunion,” each with its own unique touches and character. When you arrive, there no doubt will be a personalized note from the hosts to welcome you to your getaway haven. Once there, cozy in and watch a movie from their extensive collection, take a stroll down to the beach or start your adventures around Port Townsend."

Sunset Special Issue: Hidden West - 101 Must See Discoveries
We were paired with Dungeness Spit as a must-see destination because it is the longest sand spit in the US. Sunset chose Chevy Chase Beach Cabins as the home base, plugging that "you can dig clams outside your front door and cook 'em up inside."

Finalist in the King 5 Evening Magazine Best Northwest Escapes: Cabin Category
Chevy Chase was voted in the Top 5 for Best Cabin Getaway in 2016, 2015 and 2014! We were ranked in the Top 10 for Best Place to Watch a Sunset in 2016 and 2015, and we almost took home the prize in 2010 - placing 2nd in the Best Cabin cagegory in this voter-driven contest. Thanks for voting!

Featured as one of the “Best Beach Town Bargains of Fall 2014,” on The Weather Channel’s ‘Wake up with Al’
Chevy Chase Beach Cabins was named as one of the “Best Beach Town Bargains of Fall 2014,” when it was featured on Al Roker’s “Wake up with Al" October 2, 2014 on The Weather Channel. Chevy Chase Beach Cabins, which was described as an “incredible little cabin community” by Editor in Chief of Budget Travel, appeared as THE place to stay while in the Port Townsend area.

These 9 Cozy Cabins Are Everything You Need For The Ultimate Fall Getaway In Washington
If Washington had a cabin season, autumn would definitely be it. The weather is crisp, the leaves are amazing and the roads are still free of snow. Treat yourself to a fall getaway at one of these cozy cabins this season and experience the seasonal splendor all firsthand...

You’ll Never Forget Your Stay In These 12 One Of A Kind Washington Cabins...
We were thrilled to be included with this amazing group of Washington State cabin getaways!

Featured as a Place to Stay in Port Townsend
We were excited to be included as a destination under the Washington State and Port Townsend Travel Guides.

Named one of the 21 Best Romantic Weekend Getaways in Washington State
We were honored to be included in this list with other excellent Northwest getaway spots by VacationIdea.com.



Read ALL of our FIVE-STAR reviews on TripAdvisor HERE!
(small sample below)

We received the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence in 2017, 2016 & 2015!

Back after 50 years!

Actually, back twice after 50 years. In 1964 my wife and two of her college classmates stayed and worked at Chevy Chase for the summer. My wife taught tennis, another friend was a lifeguard and instructor at the pool, and the third in charge of the horse stables (gone now, I believe) and riding lessons. When we retired we settled in Hansville,WA, about an hour away. One beautiful fall day we decided to go back in time, so Sue took me to the cabins.....hoping that they still resembled her precious memories. Our visit was an incredible wonderful surprise. Though the horses had moved on, virtually every other aspect was so beautifully maintained that it appeared she had left only yesterday. During that visit we met the young couple who had recently bought Chevy Chase. The main lodge where the staff once slept and had meals during their "summer of work" had now become the owners private residence, but all else remained as bright as the memories. Kudos to the new owners, Jeffery and Jennifer - they are attentive, they love the place and their care shows in every aspect of their little paradise. For Thanksgiving of 2015, our family, eight of us brothers, sisters and kids came for a two day stay. We spread out in three separate cabins. Our favorite cabin is #4 which sits right on the edge of the cliff overlooking Discovery Bay. If you stay in one of the three cabins on the edge of the bluff you'll find a sweet surprise in the morning.....if you wake at sunrise, that is. From your bed you can watch the first light of day pull the mist off the water below and by the time your first cup of coffee is done all of Discovery Bay has become bright and alive with seagulls and loons skimming the surface for breakfast. I could go on and on about the beauty and peace of Chevy Chase that the new owners have so beautifully preserved but I want to leave some of that discovery for you so it will become your own personal memories. Don't forget to take the trail down to the beach for a long walk of discovery and beauty. Chevy Chase has become a regular for us with many new memories yet to come. THANK YOU JENNIFER, JEFFERY AND ALL OF THE GREAT STAFF.
-Russ and Suzy, January 27, 2016

A Piece of Paradise in a Comfy Beach Cliff Cabin
Chevy Chase Beach Cabins on Washington’s Olympic Peninsula provides the type of stellar experience that comes along only every once in awhile. When it does, revel in the experience and don’t let go. There are cabins with stunning cliff-side views of Discovery Bay and the Olympic Mountains, cabins that house a couple people, and those that can accommodate larger parties. If you enjoy creature comforts, you don’t need to fear the word “cabin” at this place. Each unique lodging manages to provide for every creature comfort without compromising the feel of rusticity and timelessness (ours had a comfy king bed and kitchen). The grounds – complete with historic mansion – are meticulously groomed and beautiful. The place is idyllic, friendly, and I dare say - close to perfection. As far as other amenities, there’s the expansive beach - perfect for walking, beachcombing, and viewing wildlife. There’s a swimming pool, golf, shuffleboard, puzzles, and a friendly, attentive staff who keeps the whole place meticulously groomed. Dogs allowed, and if you don’t have one, the resident yellow retriever Scout is willing to keep you well-attended. Port Townsend and other historic hamlets are minutes away, as well as the incredible parks, beaches and wilderness the Olympic Peninsula has to offer. If I had to describe the experience in just a few words, I’d pick…peaceful, beautiful, timeless - like paradise. If you want a getaway experience where you can say at the end “I wish I could stay forever” – Chevy Chase Beach Cabins could very well fit the bill. There’s good reason bookings often need to be made far in advance. We’ll be back.
-SeattleGourmand, May 15, 2015

Relaxing, Romantic Getaway
"We spent our fifteenth wedding anniversary at the Chevy Chase Cabins and couldn't have been more pleased with the beauty of the location, the comfortableness of the cabin and the hospitality of the hosts! The property is situated to have beautiful and expansive view of Discovery Bay and from Cabin 4 you have the best view of the cabins on the property. We sat on our deck right above the cliff every morning and evening. The cabin is very comfortable with extra little amenities to make your stay the best. We arrived to fresh cut flowers on the table along with a handmade card and a bottle of champagne for our anniversary. We will stay there again! We also decided it would be a great location to take with our four grown children and their families. We would be able to rent the larger cabin that has an adorable white picket fence enclosing the yard - perfect location for our little grandchildren to play."
-TravelerWa62, October 2014

Exceeded Our Expectations
"We stayed two nights in the Meadow cabin and wished we had booked a third. The cabin was comfortable and immaculate and came with everything we needed and a few things more, such as binoculars to look at the ducks on the pond. (We saw 8 species). It's a great getaway, very quiet, a wonderful place to read, paint, write, and enjoy the simplicity of not having to do anything other than relax. We're looking forward to returning. And it's pet friendly! Our small doing appreciated the bag of biscuits made in Port Townsend. -Pam1815, April 2014

 

Read ALL of our FIVE-STAR reviews on Yelp HERE!
(small sample below)

February 15 2016
So happy we stumbled upon this great location! We stayed in the Homestead House and it was absolutely perfect. The house was clean and came well equipped with everything we needed from pots, pans, plates and glasses to games, DVDs and books. They also provide doggie towels and sheets because they are pet owners too and understand that even the best behaved dogs love the couch and bed sometimes. Another thoughtful gesture - homemade treats for our dog which he devoured. Lots to do right on the grounds - we were able to play tetherball and shuffleboard outside when the rain stopped and walk down to the beach to collect shells and let the dog swim and play. This location would be a great place for a wedding or family reunion. Loved it and would definitely return! -Jackie A.

July 22 2015
Clean, charming, beautiful. Wish I could live here! The owners take great pride in the place which is well-loved and well-taken care of. They love dogs, bikes, kids and everyone. We sat on our tiny deck for breakfast this morning and watched the birds having theirs. Special thanks to Scout, the resident dog-greeter, who helped us feel welcome. We'll be back for sure. Wish I could give more than five stars! -Jennifer W.

July 16 2013
We stayed at the end of June. There are no words to adequately describe the serenity of Cabin 4. I woke each morning to the most amazing views from my bed that I continued to enjoy from the huge private patio perched on the cliff's edge. There was even a rainbow one morning as I watched the clouds reflected in the bay. We have two pups- a 125 lb Bernese and a 65 lb Red Healer- Jenn and Jeff really know how to welcome you and your dogs. A previous reviewer mentioned they did not see any evidence of dogs having stayed in their cabin. I will tell you why. We were given multiple sheets and towels just for our dogs so we could keep the beds, furniture and floors clean. People who come here are responsible dog owners. We spent our days at Hurricane Ridge, Port Townsend, Dungenesss Bay and Port Angeles coming home each night to BBQ or cook something simple for dinner. Dessert was a class of wine for me and a beer for my husband on the deck while our dogs played.Yes the beach at the bottom of the hill is great. There are huge lawns up top and a lower lawn midway to beach for doggie romping. I generally do not return somewhere I've already been since there is just so much to see in this world. I will return here. Just amazing. -Jack F.

August 1, 2012
As we were leaving the cabins this morning, I said: "I have never felt so good about having stayed in a place." This is a peaceful little getaway, a true home-away-from-home. We were greeted warmly, by name, by Joanna -- who even remembered that it was my partner's birthday. Our cabin was Cabin 7, a little studio with a kitchenette furnished with coffee, creamer, a microwave, a fridge, a clawfoot tub, an iPod dock....seriously, this place is better than my house. Little details rule. Real feather pillows, plenty of extra towels and toilet paper, and a corkscrew. You even get your own little front porch with two sloping Adirondack chairs that beg you to sit in them while you sip a glass of wine (fortunately, our cabin was also furnished with wine glasses.) Our stay here entitled us to use of their private beach, a 5 minute walk downhill to a gorgeous stretch of shell-encrusted shore on Discovery Bay. We think we saw an otter here. We had an AMAZING time. I feel so rested and relaxed...these people are awesome. -Allycen Q.

 

The Dog Lover's Companion to the Pacific Northwest:
The Inside Scoop on Where to Take Your Dog
-by Val Mallinson

"This resort is a class act, a treasure, perhaps inspired by the actual buried treasure in gold coins somewhere on the grounds. Chevy Chase has been a resort, off and on, since 1897. Guests rave about the water views, wide lawns, and sparkling individual cottages on a bluff overlooking Discovery Bay. Come to stay, and you won't want to or need to leave. On-site there are tennis courts, a pool, shuffleboard, horseshoe pits, a trail to the beach, a DVD collection, bocce ball, tetherball, a tree swing, and the list goes on. All seven cottages, of varying sizes, allow pets for $20 per pet per night. Their yellow lab/sheltie mix Scout and is very friendly and would love to play tetherball with your dogs."

Seattle Metropolitan Magazine, May 2006
Victorian Secrets: A Diner's Paradise is a Ferry Ride Away in Port Townsend

- by Kathy Schultz
Where to Sleep: "This beachfront property, home to seven cabins, appeals to couples, families and dog lovers. It offers beautiful views of Discovery Bay and miles of private beachfront (including a sand dollar bed yielding thousands in summer), and a swimming pool built in the 1950s. Cabin number four has the best view...."

 

We've also been mentioned in...    
   
   
   
   


 
 

 

 

 
 

 
 
 
 


All images and rights relating to them, including copyright and ownership rights in the media in which the images are stored,
remain the sole and exclusive property of Chevy Chase Beach Cabins.